Imaging Accreditation

UnitedHealthcare is committed to ensuring that all of our members have access to quality health care, including medical imaging services. We believe patients deserve assurance that equipment, technologists and physician practices are in compliance with professional society-developed performance standards for CT, MRI, PET, nuclear medicine/cardiology and echocardiography procedures (collectively referred to as "Advanced Imaging Studies").

Pursuant to UnitedHealthcare's Imaging Accreditation Program, we require accreditation for Advanced Imaging Studies. At this time, however, UnitedHealthcare will not require accreditation as a condition of eligibility for reimbursement, and therefore will not administratively deny claims for Advanced Imaging Studies based on lack of accreditation. When a decision is made to activate the claim denial component of the Imaging Accreditation Program, we will communicate the effective date to you.

Effective July 1, 2016, UnitedHealthcare will expand the list of accepted Imaging Accreditation Organizations to include RadSite and The Joint Commission (TJC). We recognize the RadSite and TJC quality standards, and are enlisting their expertise in facilitating accreditation of imaging providers.

As a reminder, UnitedHealthcare recognizes the American College of Radiology (ACR) and the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) standards and has enlisted their expertise in facilitating accreditation. Specific accreditation guidelines and standards are available on the RadSite, TJC, ACR and IAC websites. Contact information for these organizations is listed below.

UnitedHealthcare remains committed to advancing the quality and safety of imaging services through the Imaging Accreditation Program and will keep you apprised of any changes to our program.

Accreditation Contact Information

To confirm a providers accreditation status please refer to the American College of Radiology (ACR) or Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC) website. UnitedHealthcare will recognize network providers who have achieved accreditation by these organizations.

Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC)

American College of Radiology (ACR)


The Joint Commission (TJC)